As a woman in computer science

Some people have been asking me what it’s like working as a women in a male-dominated field. I can tell you that sometimes it isn’t easy dealing with the feeling of being an outsider at work but I also have to admit that things have been getting better for women in technology over the past years.

The overt staring and glaring at my body that was common during the 90s has been replaced with small glances and innuendo. It could be a testament of the fact that I’m getting older and I don’t look like how I used to but I believe that society has been changing over the years to be more accepting of women in roles like this.

I remember when I was just a little girl and I told my father that I wanted to be a computer programmer when I grow up. He laughed. Maybe he thought it was funny that at eleven years of age I knew what I wanted to do with my life or maybe he thought that females and computer don’t go together. I’ll never know what he thought.

Look. I’m not a radical feminist but I know that I deserve equal pay for doing the same work. When it comes to salary negotiation, women are given a low-ball offer and then shamed for not accepting it. Salary negotiation is tough for men but it’s near impossible for women. The cards are stacked against you.

I don’t know what I’ve been rambling about but I wanted to get this off my chest. It has never been easier to be a women in computer science although it is never going to be as easy as being a man.

As a woman in computer science

Leave a Reply

